Utah Notary Bonds

Search for your bond to get started!

Learn more about Utah Notary Bonds

How to purchase a notary bond in Utah

The Utah Office of the Lieutenant Governor requires notary publics to post a surety bond to be eligible to operate in the state. The bonds protect the public from any financial losses resulting from the notary’s negligence or misconduct. They are issued for four-year terms and remain in effect unless canceled by the surety company.

You can apply online for the bond directly through a surety company or agency. After your application is approved, you will receive a surety bond quote with the bond premium. If you accept the quote, you pay the premium and the surety company issues you the bond.

Unlike other types of surety bonds, Utah notary bonds do not require a credit check as part of the underwriting process. As a result, the bonds are often issued instantly upon completing the application.

How much is a notary bond in Utah?

All Utah notary publics must post a $5,000 surety bond. The surety company issuing the bond determines the percentage of the total bond amount you need to pay as a premium. Premiums for Utah notary public bonds generally cost $35.

How to become a notary in Utah?

To be appointed as a notary public in the State of Utah you must meet the following requirements set forth by the Utah Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a U.S. citizen or have permanent resident status under Section 245 of the Immigration and Nationality Act
  • Must be a Utah resident for at least 30 days preceding your notary application
  • Must be able to read and write English

If you meet these requirements, you can receive your notary commission by completing the following steps:

  • Study for and pass the notary exam
  • Post the $5,000 surety bond
  • Complete the notary application
  • Have your oath of office notarized
  • Purchase notary supplies
  • Obtain errors and omissions insurance (optional)

There is a $45 filing fee for applications and a $95 fee for taking the notary exam. After you are approved, the Utah State Capital Notary Office will mail you the Certificate of Authority of Notary Public within one to two weeks. For more details on becoming a notary public in Utah, you can visit the Office of the Lieutenant Governor website.