Businesses that engage in telemarketing must comply with the Telemarketing Sales Rule (TSR), and the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) set by the Federal Trade Commission. They must also comply with rules and regulations set by the state.
In Florida, if you want to perform telemarketing, you will likely need to get a license. In this post, we will examine who is required to get a Florida telemarketing license as well as provide a simple guide to obtaining your license quickly.
Who needs a Florida telemarketing license?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) requires both businesses and individual salespeople to get a telemarketing license.
There are 28 exemption cases to this requirement. If you meet one of these conditions, you are not required to get a Florida telemarketing license. You can find the list of exemption conditions in Section 501.604 of the Florida Statutes.
Obtaining a telemarketing surety bond
The FDACS requires all telemarketers to post a Florida surety bond as part of the licensing process. The surety bond provides a guarantee to the state that the licensed telemarketer will comply with all rules and regulations set forth in the Florida Telemarketing Act. It also enables others to seek financial compensation for damages caused by the telemarketer.
The required bond amount for a Florida telemarketing bond is $50,000. You won’t need to pay the full amount to get your bond as you are only responsible for paying a premium worth a small percentage of the bond total. For most telemarketers, the premium is around 2% to 5%.
The surety company that issues your bond determines the size of the premium. They will evaluate several factors including your industry experience and financial health. Unlike many other types of surety bonds, most telemarketing bonds do not require credit checks.
Submitting the telemarketing license application
After you get your telemarketing bond, you will need to submit a telemarketing license application to the FDACS. You can find the application forms on the FDACS website to submit your application by mail. You can also apply online using the FDACS web portal.
Businesses will need to complete a Commercial Telephone Seller Business License application for their company and each salesperson must complete an application for their individual license as well.
When submitting the application form, you will need to provide the following information and documents:
- Business entity documents (articles of incorporation, operating agreement)
- Surety bond form
- Your telemarketing sales scripts
- Telephone numbers that will be used to contact people
- Previous telemarketing experience
There is an annual $1,500 license fee for telemarketing businesses and a $50 annual license fee for individual salespersons. You will need to pay these fees when submitting your application.
If you are applying by mail, send your application packet to the following address:
PO Box 6700
Tallahassee FL 32314-6700
Florida telemarketing license frequently asked questions
How do you renew a Florida telemarketing license?
Florida telemarketing licenses are valid for a one-year period. To renew your license, you will need to resubmit an application to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and pay the annual license fee.
How much does a Florida telemarketing license cost?
Businesses must pay a $1,500 fee to get a Florida telemarketing license. Additionally, each member of the business must pay a $50 fee to get their telemarketing salesperson license.
Companies also need to pay for a surety bond before they can receive a license. The cost of the bond varies but can be as low as $500.
Get bonded online with EZ Surety Bonds
When you’re ready to get your Florida telemarketing license, EZ Surety Bonds offers a seamless online bonding experience to help you get your telemarketing bond quickly and affordably.
Apply online today for an instant quote or get in touch with any questions.