If you want to sell or transport alcohol in the State of Missouri, you must get a liquor license. The Missouri Department of Public Safety Alcohol & Tobacco Control handles the licensing process and sets the regulations that licensees must follow.
In this post, we will go through all the Department of Public Safety’s licensing requirements and the steps you need to take to get your Missouri liquor license:
Step 1: Determine license category
The first step to getting your Missouri liquor license is to find out what license classification you need. Each classification specifies what kind of alcohol you can sell and where you can sell it. Below are the different types of liquor licenses in Missouri:
- By Drink (Primary Retail License): This license lets the retailer sell single drink alcoholic beverages for consumption on the licensed premises. There are several subcategories that specify exactly what type of alcoholic drink the licensee can sell.
- Package: This license lets the retailer sell packages of alcoholic drinks that are to be consumed away from the licensed premises.
- Temporary Retail: This license grants the holder temporary permission to sell alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption. There are several subcategories including Picnic License, Beer and Light Wine, Retail By Drink Caterer’s License, and Retail By Drink Festival License.
- Other Retail: This license permits retailers to sell alcoholic beverages in various locations such as boats, malls, railroads, and state fairs.
- Secondary Retail: This license gives already licensed retailers additional privileges such as extended hours, package tasting, and Sunday selling.
Step 2: Register your business
Next, you must register your business with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). When registering your business, you will need to obtain a sales tax license from the DOR.
Keep copies of your sales tax registration and other business documents as you will need them for your license application.
Step 3: Submit application
Once your business is formed, you can begin preparing your liquor license application. Each license classification has its own application form to complete. You can find all the forms on the Department of Public Safety website.
In addition to the application forms, you will need to provide supporting documents. The exact documents you need to provide will vary depending on the license category.
Below you can see the required documents for a Primary retail license application:
- Certificate of No Tax Due
- Certificate of Good Standing
- Photographs of the licensed location
- Missouri Retail Sales Tax License
- Criminal record check
- Photographs of owners
- Copy of lease or rental agreement
- Voter registration
You will also need to include the appropriate licensing fee with your application:
- By the drink: $50
- Package: $100
- Temporary retail: $25
- Other retail: $300
- Secondary retail: Up to $300
After you put everything together, you must sign the application in the presence of a notary before mailing it to the following address:
1738 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.
Step 4: Get a surety bond
Retailers that sell intoxicating liquor, wine, and 5% beer must get an alcohol tax surety bond. The bonds help ensure that the business follows all the regulations listed in the Missouri Statutes. The bonds also help ensure the business pays all appropriate taxes.
The required bond amount for Missouri alcohol tax bonds ranges from $1,000 to $100,000. The exact amount is determined by the Supervisor of Alcohol and Tobacco Control on an individual basis.
When you receive your bond amount, the surety company issuing the bond will determine what percentage of the total amount you must pay as a premium.
How do you renew a Missouri liquor license?
Missouri liquor license expires annually on June 30th. You can renew your license online using the Missouri Department of Public Safety Alcohol & Tobacco Control website. Make sure to renew your license in time to avoid paying extra fees.
Get your liquor license bond online with EZ Surety Bonds
These are the steps to getting a liquor license in Missouri. If your license requires a surety bond, EZ Surety Bonds can help you get bonded quickly and conveniently.
We can offer low premiums and fast turnarounds for individuals of all financial standings. Apply online today or get in touch to learn more.