How to Get a Nevada Contractor License
If you want to work as a contractor in the State of Nevada, you need to get a contractor license. The Nevada State Contractors Board is responsible for setting the requirements contractors must fulfill to receive a license.
In this guide, we will outline the Contractors Board’s requirements and the steps you need to take to get a Nevada contractor license.
Here’s what we’ll cover:
- Nevada contractor license qualifications
- Process of getting a Nevada contractor license
- Nevada contractor license frequently asked questions
- How EZ Surety Bonds can help with a Nevada contractor license
Nevada contractor license qualifications
The Nevada State Contractors Board requires individuals to meet the following criteria to be eligible for a contractor license:
- Must be 18 years of age
- Must have four years of relevant experience
- Must be able to provide four notarized professional references
Process of getting a Nevada contractor license
Step 1: Determine license type
The first step to getting your Nevada contractor license is to determine what type of license you need, given the type of work you plan to perform. Below are the three main classifications for contractor licenses in Nevada:
- Class A - General Engineering Contractor License: Lets contractors work on projects requiring specialized engineering knowledge and skill.
- Class B - General Building Contractor License: Lets contractors work on projects that involve the construction or remodeling of buildings or structures for the support, shelter, and enclosure of persons or animals.
- Class C - Speciality Contractor License: Lets contractors work on projects that require specialized skills, building trades, or crafts.
Step 2: Register your business
Nevada contractors need to register their business with the Nevada Secretary of State before applying for a contractor license. You can complete the registration process online using the Nevada SilverFlume web Portal.
When you register your business, you will need to pay a business license fee. This amount varies depending on the legal structure of your business entity. You can learn more about the specific requirements on the Secretary of State website.
Step 3: Submit contractor license application
Once you’ve met all the necessary requirements, you can begin preparing your contractor license application. You can find all the application forms here on the Nevada Contractors Board website.
Your application must include the following supporting documents:
- Business statements
- Financial statements
- Reference certificates
- Resume detailing experience
- Background check disclosure
You will also need to include the following fees with your application:
- $300 application fee
- $600 licensing fee
- $200 administrative fee for submitting cash deposit bond
Once you’ve gathered everything you need, you can send the application to the following address:
Nevada State Contractors Board
2310 Corporate Circle, Suite 200
Henderson, Nevada 89074
Step 4: Pass knowledge exam
If you apply for a general contractor license, you’ll need to pass a business and law exam as well as a trade examination for your specific license classification.
After the Nevada State Contractors Board approves your application, they will mail you an exam eligibility form with instructions on how you can sign up for the exam.
The exams are administered at local testing centers by the PSI exam service. There is a $140 fee to take both exams and a $95 fee if you only need to take one.
Step 5: Get a surety bond
The last step you need to take to get your contractor license is to post a Nevada surety bond. The bonds offer financial protection to the state and the public, ensuring that the contractor is able to reimburse any parties damaged by their work.
The required bond amount for Nevada contractor license bonds ranges from $1,000 to $500,000. The Nevada State Contractors Board determines the exact amount after reviewing your license application.
No matter the amount of your bond, you only have to pay a small percentage of the total value as a premium. For qualified contractors, this typically runs between 1% and 5% of the bond amount. When the surety company issues your bond, they will determine your premium based on your industry experience, credit score, and other factors.
Nevada contractor license frequently asked questions
How do you renew a Nevada contractor license?
Nevada contractor licenses are valid for a two-year period. You must make sure to renew your license before the expiration date to keep it active.
You can complete the renewal license process online using the State Contractors Board’s renewal web portal. When completing the renewal, you will need to pay a $600 renewal fee.
How much does a Nevada contractor license cost?
Nevada contractors must pay a $300 application fee and a $600 licensing fee to receive a contractor license.
You also need to pay to take the pre-licensing exams which can cost $95 or $140 depending on if you need to take one or two knowledge exams.
How EZ Surety Bonds can help with a Nevada contractor’s license
These are all the steps needed to get your Nevada contractor license. When you’re ready to get started with the application process, EZ Surety can help you get bonded quickly and conveniently.
We provide competitive premiums and fast turnarounds for contractors of all experience levels. Apply online today or contact us to learn more.