How to Get a Utah Contractors License
Individuals and businesses must obtain a contractor license to perform construction work in Utah. The Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) oversees the licensing process contractors must complete.
In this guide, we’ll provide a step-by-step plan you can follow to get your Utah contractors license.
Here’s what we’ll cover:
- Utah contractor license requirements
- Process of getting a Utah contractors license
- Get a Utah contractor license bond
- Frequently asked questions and answers about a Utah contractors license
- How EZ Surety Bonds can help with a Utah contractors license
Utah Contractor License Requirements
The DOPL’s initial requirements state that contractors must be at least 18 years old to receive a license.
Each license also requires a qualifier: a person with the necessary knowledge and experience to pass the appropriate license exams.
A qualifying person must have at least two years of full-time related work experience in the last 10 years
Process of Getting a Utah Contractors License
Step 1: Determine your license classification
There are 25 classifications for Utah contractors licenses. Each allows the licensee to perform a different kind of work. The most common classifications include:
- General Building Contractors License: Lets contractors work on any kind of building structure. They can perform remodeling, repairing, and building. However, the license does not allow plumbing, mechanical, or electrical work.
- Residential and Small Commercial Contractors License: Lets contractors perform work on residential properties including single-family homes and multi-family homes (with four units or less). Contractors can also work on small commercial properties.
- General Engineering Contractors License: Lets contractors perform various types of work including water supply, drainage, and flood control. The license does not permit contractors to work on residential or commercial properties.
Other types of popular licenses include journeyman electrician, master plumber, residential electrical, and specialty contractors.
You can see the full list of contractor classifications in the Utah Code.
Step 2: Complete the pre-licensure course
Licensed contractors must complete 25 hours of pre-licensure training. The courses can come from the Utah Home Builders (UHB) or Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC).
After you complete the required training, you must pass the Utah Construction Business and Law Examination offered through PSI.
General contractors must complete five additional hours of training and pass one of the following PSI examinations based on their license classification:
- UT B-100 General Building Contractors
- UT E-100 General Engineering Contractors
- UT R-100 General Residential Contractors
- UT P-200 General Plumbing Contractors
There is a $310 course fee for the 25-hour training. General contractors can pay a $395 fee for the 30-hour pre-licensure course.
You can find out more about the courses on the AGC website.
Step 3: Register your business
If your business entity is a corporation, LLC, LLP, or partnership you must register your business with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. If you operate as a sole proprietor, you must provide your social security number (SSN).
You must also register your business with the Utah State Tax Commission and obtain a Federal Employee Identification Number (FEIN) from the IRS.
You must obtain general liability insurance before applying for your Utah contractor license. Your policy must have minimum total coverage of $300,000 including $100,000 per incident.
Businesses with employees must also obtain workers’ compensation insurance.
Submit Utah Contractor License Application
Once you’ve met all the requirements you must complete the Utah contractor license application form. You then need to gather all necessary documents and mail them with the application to the following address:
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
You’ll need to include the following license and registration fees (payable to the DOPL):
- $210 application fee for each classification
- $175 application fee for any additional classifications
Get a Utah Contractor License Bond
Depending on how you answer the financial responsibility questions in the license application, you may be required to get a contractor license surety bond. The surety bond provides financial protection to your customers and the state and helps ensure that you’ll adhere to all the license requirements.
The required bond amount varies based on the license classification:
- General Building Contractors License: $50,000 bond
- Residential and Small Building Contractors License: $25,000 bond
- General Engineering Contractors License: $50,000 bond
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers About a Utah Contractors License
How do I get a general contractor's license in Utah?
You can obtain your general contractor’s license in the State of Utah by completing the following steps:
- Meet the initial requirements
- Register your business
- Complete the pre-licensure course and exam
- Get insurance
- Submit the license application form and licensing fee
Do you need a contractors license in Utah?
You must obtain a contractors license if you are engaged in any of the construction trades listed in Title 58, Chapter 55 of the Utah Code.
How much does it cost to get a general contractor license in Utah?
Contractors must pay the following fees:
- Application fee: $210
- Initial assessment for the residence lien recovery fund: $195
- Pre-licensure course: $310 to $395
Contractors need to pay additional licensing fees if applying for more than one license qualification.
How long does it take to get your contractor's license in Utah?
Contractors must complete at least 25 hours of pre-licensure courses before submitting an application. Once the DOPL receives your application, it can take them between four to six weeks to process it.
How do you renew your Utah contractor license
Utah contractors licenses expire on November 30 of odd-numbered years, regardless of when the license was issued.
You can complete the license renewal process on the Utah DOPL website.
What are the qualifications for a contractor's license in Utah?
Contractors must meet the following qualifications to receive their license:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have two years of experience in the past 10 years
- Complete the necessary education requirements
- Have a properly registered business
How EZ Surety Bonds Can Help with a Utah Contractors License
When you’re ready to get your Utah contractors license, EZ Surety can help you get the surety bond you need.
We provide competitive premiums and quick turnarounds for individuals of all financial standings. Get in touch today to learn more.