How much does a contractor bond cost in Michigan?
Several cities and counties in the State of Michigan require contractors to post surety bonds. Below are the required bond amounts for popular Michigan contractor bonds:
- Oakland County Construction Bond: Varies
- St. Clair Shores Asphalt, Concrete, Curb Cutter Contractor Bond: Varies
The surety company issuing the bond determines your premium rate, which is the percentage of the total bond amount you pay as the premium. During the application process, the surety company evaluates your personal credit, financial statements, industry experience, and licensing history.
EZ Surety can issue premiums for Michigan contractor license bonds for as low as 1% of the required bond amount for applicants with standard credit. If your credit is below average, we can still offer a competitive rate for your contractors license bond.
Why are contractor bonds important in Michigan?
Contractor license bonds hold licensed contractors accountable for the quality of their work and protect the public from damages they’ve incurred due to the contractor’s violation of licensing laws.
When the surety company issues the bond, they provide a financial guarantee to the local municipality that the contractor will comply with the regulations set forth in the contractor license. If the contractor violates these regulations, causing a loss to the consumer, the consumer can file a claim against the bond.
If the claim is valid, the surety company will cover the costs to repair the damage up to the amount of the bond. The contractor is then liable to reimburse the surety company for all damages paid.
How do I get my general contractor’s license in Michigan?
Michigan contractors must obtain a residential builders license or a maintenance and alteration contractors license to work on projects over $600. You can meet the Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Department licensing requirements by completing the following steps:
- Complete the license application form
- Maintain a valid Michigan driver’s license
- Complete 60 hours of pre-licensure courses
- Pass the knowledge exam
- Pay the $195 license fee