If you want to serve as a public notary in the State of Michigan you must obtain a notary commission from the Michigan Secretary of State. In this post, we will break down the qualifications to become a notary in Michigan and the steps you can take to get your commission.
What are the qualifications to become a Michigan public notary?
To be eligible for a notary commission in Michigan, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Must be at least 18 years old
- Must be a Michigan resident or conduct business in Michigan
- Must be a U.S. citizen
- Must be a resident of the county of the notary appointment
- Must be able to read and write English
- Must not have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the past 10 years
Get a notary surety bond
The State of Michigan requires all public notaries to get a surety bond as part of the licensing process. The bond helps protect the state and the public from mistakes and negligent acts on the part of the notary.
The required bond amount for Michigan notary bonds is $10,000. You only need to pay a small portion of the total as a premium. EZ Surety Bonds can offer premiums as low as $50. Unlike other types of surety bonds, there is no credit review in the underwriting process so you can receive your bond instantly after applying online.
After you receive your bond from the surety company, you will need to file it with the County Clerk.
Study the Notary Public Act
All Michigan notary publics are required to review the Michigan Law on Notarial Acts before applying for a notary commission. When signing the application you must certify that you have met this requirement.
Submit application for notary public commission
After you get your bond and prepare for your work as a notary, you can complete the application for a notary commission. You can complete the application online using the Michigan Department of State online services or you can print the application form and complete it by paper.
You then must go to your local County Clerk’s office. There you will take an oath of office and file for your commission at the county level. Depending on your location, you will likely need to pay a filing fee.
After you have filed the application with your county clerk, you must file the application with the Secretary of State. If you completed the application using the e-Services platform, you can file online. If you printed the application, you can send it in by mail.
No matter what method you use, you will need to pay a $10 state filing fee.
Below is the address to mail your completed application to the Secretary of State:
Michigan Department of State
Office of the Great Seal
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918
Purchase notary supplies
Once you submit your application, the Secretary of State will review it to ensure that you meet all the necessary requirements. If you are approved, the Secretary of State’s office will mail you your notary commission certificate.
After you approved, you will need to purchase your notary supplies including:
- Notary stamp
- Notary seal
- Notary log
Renewing a Michigan Notary License
Notary publics in Michigan are commissioned for six- or seven-year terms. The term ends on the notary’s birthday of the expiration year.
The Michigan Secretary of State will mail you a renewal notice 90 days before the commission expires. You will need to complete a similar application process more than 60 days prior to the expiration date to keep your commission active.
How EZ Surety Bonds can help you become a notary in Michigan
These are the steps needed to become a notary public in Michigan. When you are ready to get the process started, EZ Surety Bonds can help make sure it all goes smoothly with our fast and affordable online bonding service. Apply now and get your bond today.